Barbie in Real Life

I was rummaging through my attic this past weekend to help my mom rid the house of some old clutter. I came across a box labeled ‘old toys’ and quickly opened it in hopes that it would trigger memories from the days of making Barbie kiss Ken, pretending my American Girl Doll Josephine was my real child, and destroying my brother’s masterpiece built from Lego’s. I was somewhat successful as I opened a box full of Barbie Dolls.  I pulled out one with brown hair, one with no hair, one half-dressed, and of course, the original Barbie doll. As I held her, I couldn’t help but notice how disproportionate she was compared to what a real woman looks like.

Barbie would not be able to survive if she were human. She would not menstruate, hold up her neck or head,  and would have to crawl on all fours due to her legs and feet. Who would want to live such a life (or lack there of)?

Barbie would be 6 feet tall and weigh a mere 100 pounds. Her measurements would be 36-18-33 (bust, waist, hips).

The Average Woman is 5 feet, 4 inches and has the measurements 35-27-37. (bust, waist, hips)

It’s no wonder that young girls learn at a young age to think that they need to resemble Barbie to be beautiful. I know that I personally believed this is how real women were built. Would it be so difficult to make dolls resemble realistic people?

April 26, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

